Little Inspiration for the Naturelles
Natural Hair Divas

image

image

I was busy doing what I do best -web surfing, looking up black girls with long puffy natural hair. Jeeez!!! I never knew how much hair a black girl can have. I got a tad bit jealous. A tad bit what?? I mean a lot jealous. I saw this gorgeous black girl with a crazy natural afro. I got so tempted and I downloaded some videos on YouTube too on how to take care of natural hair without the perming and relaxers. I have actually been looking forward to nailing the big chop and I will definitely do it this week. I have to say it is really going to be a scary phase.  *crying* my small hair. Okay, maybe not the big chop but the small chop with the monthly trims here and there. *hehehe *. No more side fringes. Damnnn!!! I have been transitioning for almost 5months now. No relaxer fashioned against me shall prosper ! 🙂

Enough blabbing!! Do you know what actually inspired me to post this today? You won’t believe what met my eyes. Maybe you will and maybe you would not. I read the caption and was like, what?? No way! I mean no way!!! No no no . That is so not possible. So I clicked on the caption to read more and feed my curiosity. It was real!! Guess what I saw?

image

Have you ever seen a black person with naturally blonde hair? I haven’t anyway. Apart from my beautiful albino friends who are fair in complexion. I spotted a picture of this cute little Melanesian child with chocolaty dark skin and enthralling blonde hair you would want to touch. Melanesians are the dominant inhabitants of Melanesia living in Eastern Indonesia and on Solomon Islands northeast of Australia. They are famous for their black skin and naturally blonde hair. It is no dye.

image

Blonde hair is exceptionally rare outside Europe but 10% of these islanders come by it naturally. This has been traced to an allele of TYRP1 unique to them, and it is not the same gene that causes blond hair in Europe.

